Screencasts, Google Slides and Wikis, Oh My!

For my 2nd and 3rd graders, I have been working on developing an animal research project that would expose them to databases and allow them to create a digital presentation. So this is the project I have decided to use for my class because I think it is important to start the research process when they are young so we can build on those skills every year.

To begin with, my school has just started using Google Classroom and Google docs.  So, I chose to create a screencast to show my teachers how to use Google slides.  Making the screencast was a little challenging but I am confident I will get better with practice.  Don’t judge 🙂 I will be practicing soon as I create a similar screencast to use with my students.  I will post it when I am finished as well.

Next, I created a sample Slideshow to demonstrate what the finished product should look like as well as the purpose of the project. I hope my students will be as excited about this project as I am.

And finally, a word about wikis and collaboration. How people collaborate has changed dramatically over the years.  Through the use of a wiki, my classmates and I were able to quickly and easily distribute information in order to complete a task.  It was a great experience because we all understood the task at hand and were able to work together.  This is a very specific life skill that I hope I am able to successfully teach my students and children and I feel that technology will provide great assistance in this matter.

Leave a Reply

